SKETCH MODELS

The sketch models which I created after this task came out a lot more refined and accurate than the ones I had done in class, I looked at different architecture and paintings which helped influence myself to create these six models, I am very happy with the outcome I have achieved however they did all take a lot of patience and concentration just to make sure they would work and then to actually construct each design. I thoroughly enjoyed this task as it made me look at different architecture and dissect it in a way where I could understand the angles and forms.

SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE

The first piece of architecture I took influence from was the Sydney Opera House, I chose this because I loved the forms which the roof creates, however it is still very structured and beautiful, yet shows an interlocking style, to make my sketch model I used card and began cutting triangles which I then folded, it took a while to get the right size triangle to get a range of scale, I didn’t want to copy the architecture exactly so I just took inspiration from the way the curves are layered and interlocked, I laid my triangles out in a curve because I wanted there to be some organic form in the model.

SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE
SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE
IMG_5716
SKETCH MODEL OF SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE
IMG_5718
SKETCH MODEL OF SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE

The next model I created was inspired by the mirror wall in Parc Diagonal Mar, Spain, this was because I felt it was very juxtaposed and angular, I took influence from this to create a model which was abstract and had a lot of angular lines within it, I felt that this one was rather difficult because I needed to mark the paper to get neat folds, otherwise the angles did not work as well as I had intended.

MIRROR WALL- Parc Diagonal Mar 
MIRROR WALL- Parc Diagonal Mar
IMG_5720
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY MIRROR WALL
IMG_5706
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY MIRROR WALL

After experimenting with angular forms and architecture, I began to look at different types of art work, ranging from famous abstract art to the work of Robert Delaunay and his use of repeating circles, this allowed my sketch models to become slightly more organic in form and they were more abstract compared to the previous few. This allowed me to use my imagination as well as still taking influence from Delaunay’s paintings.

I was very pleased with the outcome of these organic formed sketch models as they showed a range of depth and perspective, I personally think that I’ve have taken the influence I found from his work and included aspects of it into my designs rather well. If I was to redo this task I’d want to work on a larger scale and add in some more texture and patterns within my model.

ecf361a14d789dabd901ecb970ff2fc0
REPEATING CIRCLES- Robert Delaunay
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY ROBERT DELAUNARY
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY ROBERT DELAUNAY
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY ROBERT DELAUNARY
SKETCH MODEL INSPIRED BY ROBERT DELAUNAY

SKETCH MODEL GALLERY

5 thoughts on “SKETCH MODELS

Leave a comment