‘WATCH FLUX’

Watch shop concept is a small design brief which I’ve been asked to work with, I’m going to design a watch shop interior using the same technique I used for my ‘Fabric Hotel’. Firstly I started off by researching into watches and their design, as well as actual watch shop interiors, this gave me the information in which I needed to gain inspiration for this brief, you can see my Pinterest board with all my research HERE. Designing this small sketch model I decided to focus on the idea of time going on forever and the circular motion in which it moves, this lead me onto looking at the idea of a never ending circle, bringing me inspiration for the concept of the initial sketch model.

For my sketch model I used a series of circles, varying in size. I then designed a simple layout for these, which could be used for the Interior of this watch shop. I didn’t want a complex design because I personally wanted to focus on the interior layout rather than the exterior. Once I had finished my sketch model I photographed it and used different angles to create different perspectives, now it was time to begin designing.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I printed off my favorite picture of my sketch model and began to work into it, obviously because it was a watch shop there were certain things which I needed to include such as,

  • Till counter
  • Display cabinets/ counter
  • Storage
  • Lighting
  • Signs
  • Viewing counter
  • Isolated watch cabinets/pedestal

This is just a small list of what would be included, depending on the clients brief these could change, some watch shops which are higher up in the market may have one watch isolated on a pedestal with lighting placed just on that certain watch, this could show its importance and even suggest the price is higher. I wanted to design a sophisticated interior for this shop, as I wanted to focus more on the elder generations.

It was now time to begin working into my photograph, I chose to work with fine liner and Copic Sketch markers, this allowed me to have the fine detail from the fine liners, yet I was able to render the visual showing different aspects, materials and lighting. I wanted to be able to show the interior and all the aspects within it, I didn’t want to over crowd the shop as it needs some space to allow the watches to speak for themselves, because my focus was on the elder generations I decided to keep with a muted colour pallet, I didn’t want to distract by have too many colours within the space.

WATCH SHOP VISUAL
WATCH SHOP VISUAL

My watch shop visual turned out as I wanted it to, it shows all the aspects within it, e.g. viewing counters, till counter, storage, display cabinets and the display pedestal. I incorporated more lighting than I had originally planned because I felt it allowed attention to be drawn on the places it was most needed. I created the counter and pedestal with a pattern, featuring the mechanism that is inside the watch, these are both glass a long with the display cabinets. I chose to use glass as I felt it had a more sophisticated look and I had also seen it appear a lot when I researched watch shop interiors. I gave it the name of ‘Watch Flux’ to portray the idea of the action of flow that a watch has. Because I was looking at a target market for elder generations I chose the muted colour pallet, as mentioned before, I chose beige tones because they help create the atmosphere of comfort or naturalness, because brown/beige is found in nature almost everywhere and is not on the colour wheel, its known for being a neutral colour. I then wanted to contrast it against the counters within the interior, this then inspired me to use a kaki green. I wanted to use a tone of green because it has a physiological effect on the brain and creates a calm and relaxed atmosphere, it is very calm and clear which helps create the shops atmosphere of being a relaxed place to shop or even just browse. Green is also very soothing on the eye and combines easily with the brown.

3 thoughts on “‘WATCH FLUX’

Leave a comment