LONDON- BOX PARK

Another place which we visited on our trip was Boxpark, this is London’s first pop-up shopping mall which is made up entirely of shipping containers, which was convenient as our project was based around a very similar concept.

13217182_1080966535299648_1704249923645736704_o

It is located next to Shoreditch Underground station and consists of small compact stores and restaurants. Each store is either made up of 1 container or 2, this is a very restricted space to work within however it showed us how they have used the interior sufficiently. This was very inspiring for our project as it gave me ideas as to how I wanted to stack my shipping containers and how I could use the small space to its full capacity.

I found it very interesting to see how containers are used throughout the world not only for storage but for daily use as a shop, restaurant or whatever you may wish. It opened my mind to explore different design concepts and be inventive when I am thinking of ways to create a space.

Leave a comment